Sakharov Prize 2017: discover the nominees

Sakharov Prize 2017: discover the nominees (L-R in alphabetical order)

There are six nominees for the 2017 Sakharov Prize : Asia Bibi, Aura Lolita Chavez Ixcaquic, Selahattin Demirtas and Figen Yuksekdag, the Democratic Opposition in Venezuela, Dawit Isaak and Pierre Mbonimpa nominated for Sakharov Prize 2017.

The next steps are:

  • 10 October: the foreign affairs and development committees vote on a shortlist of three finalists
  • 26 October: the Parliament President and the political group leaders announce the laureate(s)
  • 13 December: award ceremony takes place at the Parliament in Strasbourg