Sakharov Prize

Sakharov Prize


Press release on the shortlist of 3 finalists

List of Candidates for the 2014 Sakharov Prize

Calendar for the Sakharov Award Ceremony 2014

Notice to Members on the Sakharov Procedure 2014, including the Statute


The 25th Anniversary Conference of the Sakharov Prize, 17-21 November 2013

Malala Yousafzai - winner of the Sakharov Prize 2013

List of Candidates for the Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought 2013

Sakharov Prize 2013

Today's broadcasts
No broadcast today  
Multimedia Library

Welcome to the Subcommittee on Human Rights (DROI) of the European Parliament.
The Subcommittee's main responsibilities include all matters relating to human rights, the protection of minorities and the promotion of democratic values while its geographical remit covers countries outside the EU.
DROI's main objectives involve ensuring that human rights are at the forefront of European foreign policy and mainstreaming human rights across all policy areas.
One highlight of our work is the annual Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought, which is awarded to individuals/organisations fighting for human rights. We also aim to react to human rights violations around the world as swiftly as possible by giving a voice to the people most affected.
We very much welcome and make use of input and up-to-date information from human rights defenders, citizens and NGOs. Our meetings are webstreamed and can be watched online. For the time being (draft) reports, amendments or opinions drawn up by DROI are only accessible via the website of the Committee on Foreign Affairs (AFET) as the final vote takes place in AFET.
Follow us on Facebook and Twitter @EP_HumanRights.