All announcements

All announcements

Hearing for the appointment of the EDPS and the Assistant Supervisor, 20.10

On 20 October, from 19.00 to 22.30, in meeting room Louise Weiss (LOW) N1.3 in Strasbourg, the LIBE Committee will hold a hearing for the appointment of the European Data Protection Supervisor and the Assistant Supervisor. The appointment procedure is based on Article 42 of Regulation (EC) No 45/2001 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 18 December 2000 on the protection of individuals with regard to the processing of personal data by the Community institutions and bodies and on the free movement of such data.

LIBE - AFET exchange of views on Counter-Terrorism

On 16 October from 11.30 to 12.30 in meeting room Paul-Henri Spaak PHS 3 C 50, AFET and LIBE Committees will hold a joint meeting in order to have an exchange of views with Jean-Paul LABORDE, United Nations Executive Director of Counter-Terrorism Committee Executive Directorate (CTED). The joint Committee meeting underscores the intertwined character between external and internal policies in combatting terrorism, radicalization and the rising phenomenon of "foreign fighters".

Joint debate on the procedural rights package

On 16 October from 10.00 to 11.00 in room József Antall (JAN) 2Q2, LIBE Committee will hold a joint debate on three proposed Directives in the field of the procedural rights of accused and suspected persons in criminal proceedings. The proposals were presented by the Commission in November last year and concern the specific procedural safeguards for children suspected or accused in criminal proceedings, the strengthening of certain aspects of the presumption of innocence and of the right to be present at trial in criminal proceedings and the  provisional legal aid for suspects or accused persons deprived of liberty and legal aid in European arrest warrant proceedings. They are part of the procedural rights Roadmap adopted by the Council in 2009.

Joint debate on Smart Borders package

On 16 October from 9.00 to 10.00 in room József Antall (JAN) 2Q2, the LIBE Committee will hold a joint debate on the Smart Borders Package. The European Commission will present the study on technical options for a smart borders pilot.

Hearing of Vice-President-Designate Andrus ANSIP

The IMCO Committee held an exchange of views with Mr Ansip on 6.10.14 from 18.30 in Brussels. Mr ANSIP has been designated as Vice-President for the Digital Single Market. The LIBE Committee was associated to this hearing given the overseeing role of Vice-President-Designate ANSIP on the conclusion of negotiations on the reform of Europe's data protection rules as well as the review of the Safe Harbour arrangement with the U.S.

Hearing of Vice-President-Designate Frans TIMMERMANS

The Conference of Presidents held an open meeting in order to have the exchange of views with Mr Timmermans on Tuesday, 7 October from 14.30. Mr Timmermans has been designated as Vice-President for Better regulation, Inter-institutional relations, Rule of Law and Charter of Fundamental Rights. The LIBE Chair will participate to this open meeting.

Hearing of Commissioner-Designate Dimitris AVRAMOPOULOS

The LIBE Committee held an exchange of views with Mr AVRAMOPOULOS on 30.09.14 at 13.30 in Brussels. Mr Avramopoulos has been designated for the portfolio of Migration and Home. His main tasks will be developing a new policy on regular migration, while at the same time tackling robustly irregular migration. He will also be in charge of ensuring full implementation of the Common European Asylum System.

Hearing of Commissioner-Designate Günter OETTINGER

The ITRE and CULT Committees held the hearing of Commissioner Designate Mr Oettinger on 29.09.14 from 18.30 in Brussels. Mr Oettinger has been designated for the portfolio of Digital Economy and Society. LIBE Committee was associated to this hearing as far as data protection, freedom of expression, freedom of information, freedom and pluralism of the media and cultural and linguistic diversity matters are concerned.

Hearing of Commissioner-Designate Vera JOUROVÁ

The LIBE, IMCO, JURI and FEMM Committees held an exchange of views with Mrs Jourová on 1.10.14 at 13.30 in Brussels. Mrs Jourová has been designated for the portfolio of Justice, Consumers and Gender Equality. LIBE Committee interviewed Mrs Jourová on issues related to the development and establishment of an area of justice falling under its competences, namely judicial cooperation in criminal matters, as well as data protection and the protection of fundamental rights in general.  

Today's broadcasts
No broadcast today  
Multimedia Library
Welcome words

As Chair of the Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs (LIBE) I am happy to welcome you to this page.
The LIBE Committee is responsible for the vast majority of the legislation and democratic oversight of Justice and Home Affairs policies. Whilst doing so, it ensures the full respect of the Charter of Fundamental Rights within the EU, the European Convention on Human Rights and the strengthening of European citizenship.
Our Committee carries out its work in daily interactions with the European Commission (representing the European interest), the Council of Ministers (representing the 28 Member States' governments and national interests) and in close cooperation with national Parliaments. Regular exchanges also take place with representatives from the judiciary, law-enforcement authorities, academics and civil society.
While fully respecting the national legal order, Justice and Home Affairs policies are aimed at tackling issues of a common interest at the European level, such as: the fight against international crime and against terrorism, the protection of fundamental rights, ensuring data protection and privacy in a digital age, fighting against discrimination based on racial or ethnic origin, religion, belief, disability, age or sexual orientation.
The LIBE Committee will do its upmost to continue building a fruitful dialogue with all interested parties and especially with citizens.