Viimased uudised
Next meeting of the Committee on Budgets

The next BUDG Committee meeting will take place on 23 July 2014 from 10.00 to 12.00 and from 15.00 to 17.00 in room PHS 3C050, Brussels.
The Committee on Budgets will hold a first exchange of views on the EU budget for the coming year after the agreement on 15 July in Coreper on the Council's position on the draft budget. Compared to the Commission proposal the Council reduced payments by 2.1 billion € and commitments by 522 million €.

Appointment of Commissioner Jacek Dominik

Following the election to the European Parliament of former Commissioner Janusz Lewandowski, the Committee on Budgets, with the participation of the Committee on Budgetary Control, held an exchange of views with Jacek Dominik on 14.07.14 in Strasbourg. Mr Jacek Dominik has been designated for the portfolio of Financial Programming and Budget. His mandate is expected to last until the end of October, when a new Commission is to be set up. Following the exchange of views, the European Parliament approved on Mr Dominik's appointment as Commissioner during its plenary sitting of 16.07.14.

Jean Arthuis elected Chair of the Committee on Budgets

Mr Jean Arthuis (ALDE, FR) is the new Chair of the Committee on Budgets, elected by acclamation on 7 July 2014. During its constituent meeting, the Committee also elected its vice-chairs: Mr Petri Sarvamaa (EPP, FI), Mr Jens Geier (S&D, DE), Mr Siegfried Mureșan (EPP, RO) and Ms Patricija Šulin (EPP, SL).
Together, the Chair and vice-chairs make up the Bureau of the Committee, elected for a two-and-a-half year term.

Viimased pressiteated
Vaata kõiki  
JURI LIBE BUDG FEMM ECON ITRE 15-07-2014 - 10:47  

Four candidate EU Commissioners, nominated to replace those who left to become MEPs, were given committee hearings on Monday. The four, who if confirmed by the full House will serve for the rest of the Commission’s current term, are Jyrki Katainen (Finland), Ferdinando Nelli Feroci (Italy) Martine Reicherts (Luxembourg) and Jacek Dominik (Poland).


After the election of a President, Vice-Presidents and Quaestors of the European Parliament in Strasbourg last week, parliamentary committees convened on Monday in Brussels to elect chairpersons and their deputies for next two and a half years.

Presentation and competencies
Committee responsible for:
1.    the multiannual financial framework of the Union’s revenue and expenditure and the Union’s system of own resources;
2.    Parliament’s budgetary prerogatives, namely the budget of the Union as well as the negotiation and implementation of interinstitutional agreements in this field;
3.    Parliament’s estimates according to the procedure defined in the Rules;
4.    the budget of the decentralised bodies;
5.    the financial activities of the European Investment Bank which are not part of European economic governance;
6.    the budgetisation of the European Development Fund, without prejudice to the powers of the committee responsible for the ACP-EU Partnership Agreement;
7.    financial implications and compatibility with the multiannual financial framework of all Union acts, without prejudice to the powers of the relevant committees;
8.    keeping track of and assessing the implementation of the current budget notwithstanding Rule 95(1), transfers of appropriations, procedures relating to      the establishment plans, administrative appropriations and opinions concerning buildings-related projects with significant financial implications;
9.    the Financial Regulation, excluding matters relating to the implementation, management and control of the budget.
Tänased ülekanded
Multimeedia arhiiv
Welcome words

Available soon