Veuillez remplir ce champ


Statement of the Chair on Turkey's military action in Syria

On Wednesday, 9 October 2019 Turkish military forces have launched an offensive in Northern Syria.

Dr Sergey Lagodinsky, Chair of the Delegation to the EU-Turkey Joint Parliamentary Committee of the European Parliament, comments:

"I am deeply concerned about the humanitarian, geopolitical and bilateral costs of this intervention.

I recognize Turkey's legitimate security interests in the region, however this military operation will in no way advance peace in the region and will jeopardize the Turkish position in the long term.

We acknowledge the exceptional efforts that Turkey has demonstrated by hosting so many Syrian refugees. This is why the EU has been contributing to those efforts financially. However, we must ensure that the EU will not finance any resettlements of refugees outside of the Turkish territory. We should neither condone nor finance forceful demographic shifts in Northern Syria, especially those that come at cost of people who already had to flee their homes once.

The unilateral withdrawal of US troops is a strategic blow for the region and contains considerable spill-over risks for Europe. But the situation following the American announcement also proves the urgent need for a coherent, coordinated and effective common EU foreign and security policy. The fact that the EU never became a responsible political actor for peace in Syria proves that a lot of homework is to be done by the European Union itself.

The Turkish-EU relationship deserves a positive agenda. The invasion of Turkish troops in Syria is a serious disruption for any future partnership."

Interparliamentary delegations start establishing their bureaus

Delegations are electing their bureaus, each of them consisting of a Chair and two Vice-Chairs.

At the constitutive meetings on Thursday, 26 September, most of 44 interparliamentary delegations of the European Parliament decided on their Chairs and Vice-Chairs. Once the elections have taken place, the names of the new Bureaus' members will be published on the Delegations' website. (Check the respective homepage of each delegation.)

Interparliamentary delegations maintain relations and conduct policy dialogues with parliamentarians in other countries, regions and organisations to promote the EU's core values: liberty, democracy, respect for human rights and fundamental freedoms, and the rule of law.

There are 44 standing interparliamentary delegations in this legislative period, the same number as in the last parliamentary term. Most of them have the same structure: they have a Chair and two Vice-Chairs, except for delegations to parliamentary assemblies (such as ACP, Eurolat, Euromed and Euronest), which are led by larger bureaus. Parliament's diversity in terms of geography and gender must be reflected in the composition of the bureau of each delegation; it shall not be permissible to have an all-male or all-female bureau or for both of the vice-chairs to come from the same member state (Rule 223 and Rule 213).