General documents

General documents

Mode d'affichage des délégations

Background information / History - 2014 & Questions and answers on the Eastern Partnership

  • Information Note on the work of the EP Delegation and the establishment of the Euronest PA, 2014
  • Questions and answers on the Eastern Partnership
Presentation and competencies

The EP Delegation to the EURONEST Parliamentary Assembly (Euronest PA) has been created by decision of the European Parliament on 6 May 2009 and constituted in the beginning of the 7th legislature (end of September 2009).  The Assembly, after one and a half year of difficult discussions, has been established on 3 May 2011 as the parliamentary dimension of the Eastern Partnership, the policy launched by the European Union for its Eastern neighbours, to bring them closer, avoiding new dividing lines, and  to conclude far reaching Association Agreements, including Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Areas. The European Parliament had called for the creation of the Assembly already during its 6th legislature. The Euronest PA is currently composed of 110 Members: 60 Members from the European Parliament (this is also the number of Members of the current EP delegation) and 10 from each of the following countries (the Eastern Partners): Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine. For political reasons, it was not possible, to date, to admit to the PA any Belarusian Delegation.
The Euronest PA aims to be the institution for multi-lateral parliamentary dialogue and for exchange among the Eastern partners and between the MEPs and their Eastern partner countries' homologues in several areas of common interest: stability, democracy, legal and standards approximation, trade, energy, people-to-people contacts and many others.

You can contact the Delegation Secretariat by e-mail at the following address: