Delegation for relations with the countries of South Asia
The Delegation for Relation with South Asia meets in regular intervals to update MEPs on developments in the respective countries, pays officials visits twice a year, and welcomes in-coming delegations regularly.

The dates of the meetings will be announced on this page.
Mode d'affichage des délégations
Jean LAMBERT Chair Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance United Kingdom Green Party
James NICHOLSON Vice-Chair European Conservatives and Reformists Group United Kingdom Ulster Unionist Party
Richard CORBETT Vice-Chair Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats in the European Parliament United Kingdom Labour Party
Joëlle BERGERON Member Europe of Freedom and Direct Democracy Group France Sans étiquette
Marie-Christine BOUTONNET Member Europe of Nations and Freedom Group France Front national
Daniel CASPARY Member Group of the European People's Party (Christian Democrats) Germany Christlich Demokratische Union Deutschlands
Albert DESS Member Group of the European People's Party (Christian Democrats) Germany Christlich-Soziale Union in Bayern e.V.
Stefan ECK Member Confederal Group of the European United Left - Nordic Green Left Germany Independent
Alain LAMASSOURE Member Group of the European People's Party (Christian Democrats) France Les Républicains
Georg MAYER Member Europe of Nations and Freedom Group Austria Freiheitliche Partei Österreichs
Presentation and competencies

The European Parliament's delegation for relations with South Asia was established in 2007, largely as the successor of the EP delegation for relations with the South Asia Association for Regional Cooperation.

It thus covers all SAARC countries except Afghanistan and India (with whom bilateral delegations exist), i.e. Bangladesh, Bhutan, Sri Lanka, the Maldives, Nepal and Pakistan. EU relations with these countries, while still developing, are based on different legal grounds, reflecting diverse patterns of intensity in commercial exchanges, investment flows, development cooperation, technical assistance, or cultural links.

Thus, Cooperation Agreements exist with Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and Pakistan. While these do not always explicitly foresee a parliamentary dimension, political dialogue is foreseen. In this spirit, meetings between legislators have regularly taken place, usually at the impulse of the EP Delegation: since 1981, more than 40 interparliamentary meetings have been held, covering all six countries.

While this activity has allowed EP priorities on democracy and human rights to be conveyed on the ground, it has also greatly helped MEPs in fulfilling their mandate - notably on trade-related issues, especially taking into account the enhanced role of the European Parliament after the entry into force of the Lisbon Treaty.

You can contact the Secretariat of the Delegation for relations with the countries of South Asia at the following email address:


or by fax:
+32 2 28 46831 (Brussels)
+33 3 881 79059 (Strasbourg)