Veuillez remplir ce champ

Testi dell'UE

Joint Communication on the EU-ASEAN partnership, 18 May 2015

On 18 May 2015, the EU's High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy and the European Commission adopted a joint communication titled, "The EU and ASEAN: a partnership with a strategic purpose".

The paper advanced ideas for taking EU-ASEAN (Association of South East Asian Nations) relations to a higher level by providing a more coherent framework for sectoral cooperation and by ensuring a sharper political focus.

Concrete proposals and commitments contained in the paper include:
  • taking trade relations with ASEAN to a different level and working towards an ambitious region-to-region Free Trade Agreement (FTA) building on bilateral agreements between the EU and ASEAN Member States;
  • stepping up cooperation on 'Connectivity' by exchanging lessons learned and by mobilising the financial means and expertise to support ASEAN efforts, including on the single market and through negotiating a civil aviation agreement;
  • strengthening collaboration on climate change and initiating a new, dedicated EU-ASEAN policy dialogue on environment and sustainable development;
  • more than doubling EU financial support for ASEAN integration (to 170 million) which comes on top of the EUR 2 billion for ASEAN Member States;
  • implementing new initiatives in the area of non-traditional security (maritime security, disaster management and crisis response, transnational crime, training courses on preventive diplomacy, crisis management, mediation, the rule of law and election observation).

EU-ASEAN Bandar Seri Begawan Action Plan, 2013-2017

This Action Plan responds to the decision of Foreign Ministers at the 18th ASEAN-EU Ministerial Meeting in Madrid, on 26 May 2010. Building upon the achievements of 35 years of ASEAN-EU Dialogue Relations, it aims to increase cooperation by addressing regional and global challenges of shared concern over the five years, from 2013-2017.

Areas of ASEAN-EU relations covered by the agreement are:
  1. Political and Security Cooperation
  2. Economic Cooperation
  3. Socio-Cultural Cooperation
  4. Institutional support to ASEAN
  5. Follow-up Mechanism.

Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia

The Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia was signed by the original leaders of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) in Denpasar, Bali on 24 February 1976.

The EU acceded to this multilateral treaty on 26 April 2012. The EU was the first regional party to this multilateral treaty.

The purpose of the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia (abbreviated as TAC), as stated in its first article, is "to promote perpetual peace, everlasting amity and cooperation" among the peoples of Southeast Asia and thereby "contribute to their strength, solidarity and closer relationship".

Signatories to the agreement accept the following fundamental principles as guides to their relations:
  • Mutual respect for the independence, sovereignty, equality, territorial integrity and national identity of all nations;
  • The right of every State to lead its national existence free from external interference, subversion or coercion;
  • Non-interference in the internal affairs of one another;
  • Settlement of differences or disputes by peaceful means;
  • Renunciation of the threat or use of force;
  • Effective cooperation among themselves.
The EC first formulated its request to join the treaty in a letter of 7 December 2006. The Treaty's terms were adapted in 2010 to allow regional organisations (such as the EU) to join. This paved the way for the Union's accession.

Joining the TAC furthers the objectives of the EU, particularly as they relate to the preservation of peace, the prevention of conflicts and the strengthening of security in Southeast Asia. The EU's participation also contributed to the sustainable economic, social and environmental development of countries in the region.

Nuremberg Declaration on an EU-ASEAN Enhanced Partnership, 15 March 2007

In this declaration signed in on 15 March 2007, the EU and ASEAN committed to enhancing EU-ASEAN dialogue and cooperation, including at the highest level.

The Declaration sets out the long-term vision and commitment of both sides to work together.

The following areas of cooperation are listed:
  1. Political and Security Cooperation
  2. Economic Cooperation
  3. Cooperation in the field of Energy Security and Climate Change/Environment
  4. Socio-Cultural Cooperation
  5. Development Cooperation
  6. Follow-up.

EU-ASEAN Cooperation Agreement (1980)

The "Cooperation Agreement between the European Economic Community and Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand -- member countries of the Association of South-East Asian Nations" was signed in Kuala Lumpur on 7 March 1980 and entered into force on 1 October 1980.

The general aim of the treaty is to develop commercial, economic and development cooperation between the EU and ASEAN. In their agreement, the two partners have made efforts to take advantage of the economic integration which has taken place in their respective regions. As much as possible, this regional aspect has been integrated into the cooperation.

The agreement is made up of a number of chapters which establish cooperation in the trade, economic and development areas. A Joint Cooperation Committee was established to promote and keep under review the various cooperation activities and to provide a forum for consultations between the parties.