Veuillez remplir ce champ


DNAT: Delegation for relations with the NATO Parliamentary Assembly

The European Parliament's delegation for the NATO Parliamentary Assembly is made up of 10 MEPs who serve as the link between the Parliament and NATO's forum for parliamentarians. Participants in the NATO Parliamentary Assembly are either full members -- drawn from the countries in the North Atlantic Alliance -- or associate members. The European parliament's delegation to the Assembly is one of these associate members.

The delegation ensures that the Assembly benefits from an EU perspective, as well as from the particular and democratic voice of the directly elected Members of the European Parliament.


The DNAT delegation joins the Assembly for various activities, including two annual sessions in the spring and autumn. The European Parliament may also participate in most of the Assembly's committee and sub-committee activities.

In Brussels, the delegation also organises exchanges of views with decision-makers, high-ranking staff and prominent experts from both organisations. Speakers from the European External Action Service (EEAS), NATO, the NATO Parliamentary Assembly and various think tanks have all addressed recent delegation meetings.

Members and focus

The delegation's 10 members are all drawn from the Parliament's Subcommittee on Security and Defence (SEDE).

The chair of the delegation is Eva Kaili, a Greek member of the European Parliament's Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists. She is supported by two vice-chairs: Arnaud Danjean and Georgios Kyrtsos. The chair and vice-chairs are elected by the other members of the delegation.

While the delegation generally serves to make the Union and the Parliament more visible, its work is particularly important in overseeing EU-NATO cooperation and the theatres of operations where both the EU and NATO are engaged. These include, for example, Afghanistan, Kosovo and the Mediterranean Sea where the partners are working to fight migrant smugglers and traffickers, and generally to contribute to safeguarding maritime security.