Procedure : 2019/2883(RSP)
Document stages in plenary
Document selected : B9-0156/2019

Texts tabled :


Debates :

PV 23/10/2019 - 21
CRE 23/10/2019 - 21

Votes :

PV 24/10/2019 - 8.10
CRE 24/10/2019 - 8.10
Explanations of votes

Texts adopted :


PDF 124kWORD 43k


<TitreSuite>to wind up the debate on the statements by the Council and the Commission</TitreSuite>

<TitreRecueil>pursuant to Rule 132(2) of the Rules of Procedure</TitreRecueil>

<Titre>on opening accession negotiations with North Macedonia and Albania</Titre>


<RepeatBlock-By><Depute>Anna Fotyga, Witold Jan Waszczykowski, Adam Bielan, Ryszard Czarnecki, Karol Karski, Zdzisław Krasnodębski, Angel Dzhambazki</Depute>

<Commission>{ECR}on behalf of the ECR Group</Commission>


See also joint motion for a resolution RC-B9-0156/2019


European Parliament resolution on opening accession negotiations with North Macedonia and Albania


The European Parliament,

 having regard to the European Council’s decisions of 16 December 2005 to grant North Macedonia (at that time: the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia) and of 26-27 June 2014 to grant Albania the status of candidate for EU membership,

 having regard to the Sofia Declaration of the EU-Western Balkans summit of 17 May 2018 and the Sofia Priority Agenda annexed thereto,

 having regard to its previous resolutions on Albania and North Macedonia,

 having regard to the protocol on the accession of North Macedonia to NATO, signed on 6 February 2019;

 having regard to Rule 132(2) of its Rules of Procedure,

A. whereas EU enlargement continues to constitute a strategic investment in peace, democracy, prosperity, security and stability in Europe;

B. whereas the Commission has recommended the opening of accession negotiations with Albania and North Macedonia, given the good progress achieved in the fulfilment of the key priorities;

C. whereas Albania and North Macedonia have continued to make steady progress towards meeting the political criteria and the five key priorities for the opening of accession negotiations, as well as in consolidating democratic institutions and practices;

D. whereas the Balkans region is strategically important for the EU;

E. whereas, in the case of North Macedonia, the Prespa Agreement of 17 June 2018 on the settlement of differences and the establishment of a strategic partnership between the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Greece sent the much-needed positive signal for stability and reconciliation and opened the way for accession;

F. whereas, at the European Council meeting of 17-18 October 2019, France, supported by the Netherlands and Denmark, effectively blocked the accession negotiations with Albania and North Macedonia on the basis that further reforms needed to be implemented by the two countries;

G. whereas Albania has been a NATO member since 2009 and North Macedonia will soon become the 30th member of the Alliance;

1. Expresses its strong disappointment that the opening of accession negotiations with North Macedonia and Albania has been blocked, despite the fact that both countries have clearly fulfilled the criteria set by the Council;

2. Believes that postponing this process despite the progress made by both countries is a strategic mistake which will have a detrimental effect on the reputation of the EU and may weaken the most potent soft power attribute the EU has at its disposal – the prospect of membership;

3. Underlines that stalling the accession of the Western Balkan countries may lead to destabilisation of the whole region and could slow down or even completely halt the implementation of pro-European reforms in other accession countries;

4. Is, moreover, concerned that a lack of progress in enlargement may also directly affect the security and wellbeing of the EU, as it may gradually push all Western Balkans countries towards third parties which are already trying to increase their influence in the region, including – but not limited to – Russia and China;

5. Is strongly committed to the policy of enlargement as one of the key priorities of the EU;

6. Reiterates that, pursuant to Article 49 TEU, any state in Europe may apply to become a member of the European Union provided that it adheres to the Copenhagen criteria and the principles of democracy, respects fundamental freedoms and human and minority rights, and upholds the rule of law;

7. Instructs its President to forward this resolution to the Council, the Commission and the governments and parliaments of Albania, North Macedonia, Montenegro, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo and Serbia.


Last updated: 22 October 2019Legal notice