Go back to the Europarl portal

Choisissez la langue de votre document :

  • bg - български
  • es - español
  • cs - čeština
  • da - dansk
  • de - Deutsch
  • et - eesti keel
  • el - ελληνικά
  • en - English (Selected)
  • fr - français
  • ga - Gaeilge
  • hr - hrvatski
  • it - italiano
  • lv - latviešu valoda
  • lt - lietuvių kalba
  • hu - magyar
  • mt - Malti
  • nl - Nederlands
  • pl - polski
  • pt - português
  • ro - română
  • sk - slovenčina
  • sl - slovenščina
  • fi - suomi
  • sv - svenska
 Full text 
Thursday, 4 April 2019 - Brussels Provisional edition

Listing the third countries whose nationals must be in possession of visas when crossing the external borders and those whose nationals are exempt from that requirement, as regards the UK's withdrawal from the EU (A8-0047/2019 - Sergei Stanishev) (vote)

  Julie Girling (PPE). – Mr President, I rise on the same issue, but under Rule of Procedure 59(3) to ask this House to open up the report for amendments. I do not wish to postpone it. The justification is simple. This technical and very welcome report, which gives UK citizens the rights of visa entry to the EU after Brexit, has been hijacked by a politically—motivated intervention from Spain in the Council.

The addition of the wording describing Gibraltar as a colony of the UK is not in the EP mandate and the rapporteur, Claude Moraes, has consistently upheld Parliament’s position. He was then put under tremendous pressure, and was eventually removed by a Conference of Presidents’ decision, rapidly followed by Parliament conceding to the Council’s demands.

In effect, Parliament has colluded at the highest level to replace a legitimately—agreed Parliament text with the self—interest of one Member State. Irrespective of politics, I believe that this process demonstrates a disregard for the prerogatives of this Parliament and should be resisted.

I and 38 MEPs, including Clare Moody and Molly Scott Cato ....

(The President cut off the speaker)

Last updated: 14 June 2019Legal notice