Question for written answer E-001150/2015 to the Commission Rule 130 Hugues Bayet (S&D)

Subject: Torture in the world

With the exception of Iran, Oman, South Sudan, the Central African Republic, Zimbabwe, Myanmar, Malaysia, Brunei, North Korea, Papua New Guinea and Fiji, every country in the world has signed and ratified the 1984 Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment.

In 2014, however, 141 countries still practise torture - an increase over 2011, when 101 countries did so.

- 1. How does the Commission view this development?
- 2. Could global action be taken by the Commission to counter this?

1047777.EN PE 548.317