Question for written answer E-004717/2015 to the Commission Rule 130 Ivan Jakovčić (ALDE)

Subject: Agreement on Eastern Partnership

The year 2009 saw the launch of the Eastern Partnership between the EU and six countries of the former Soviet Union. The policy of Eastern Partnership includes countries which are immediate neighbours - Ukraine, Republic of Moldova and Belarus and the three South Caucasus countries - Georgia, Armenia and Azerbaijan. The Partnership was established to support the political, social and economic reform efforts in those countries in order to strengthen democratisation and good governance and enhance energy security, environmental protection and economic and social development.

Ultimately the partnership was launched to open the way to an association agreement.

Meanwhile the geopolitical situation has changed. There are difficulties with continuing the process. While some states came closer by signing an association agreement with the EU, Armenia and Belarus joined the Eurasian Alliance (EAA) together with the Russian Federation. In Ukraine there is a war and in Georgia there are parts that favour affiliation with Russia. The situation is such that the conditions for continued functioning of Eastern Partnership have changed.

- 1. What is the position of the European Commission about the further functioning of the Eastern Partnership?
- 2. What further steps does the Commission intend to take if it is planned to continue the Partnership?

1055483.EN PE 553.865