Go back to the Europarl portal

Choisissez la langue de votre document :

  • bg - български
  • es - español
  • cs - čeština
  • da - dansk
  • de - Deutsch
  • et - eesti keel
  • el - ελληνικά
  • en - English (Selected)
  • fr - français
  • ga - Gaeilge
  • hr - hrvatski
  • it - italiano
  • lv - latviešu valoda
  • lt - lietuvių kalba
  • hu - magyar
  • mt - Malti
  • nl - Nederlands
  • pl - polski
  • pt - português
  • ro - română
  • sk - slovenčina
  • sl - slovenščina
  • fi - suomi
  • sv - svenska
Parliamentary questions
PDF 7kWORD 26k
4 November 2015
Answer given by Mr Andriukaitis on behalf of the Commission
Question reference: E-012640/2015

As regards the presence of Xylella fastidiosa in Apulia, Italy, the national Authorities have identified 31 outbreaks (dated 31 August 2015) which according to Decision (EU) 2015/789 have to be subject to eradication/containment measures, with 3.103 plants to be removed. These outbreaks are located within the province of Lecce, and more particularly within a distance of 20 km from the border of that area with the rest of the Union territory, as well as in the adjacent province of Brindisi. However, the number of outbreaks increases as investigations progress. In September 2015, new positive cases have been further reported in the province of Brindisi, in the buffer zone surrounding Lecce. The outbreaks situated in the south of the province of Lecce are no longer considered as priority for containment measures, except in very specific locations. The Italian Authorities keep an online database (www.emergenzaxylella.it) up to date with new findings.

In Apulia, the bacterium has been detected so far in 18 plant species, including relevant species for the agricultural sector such as Olea europaea L.; Prunus avium (L.) L.; Prunus dulcis (Mill.) D.A. Webb; Rosmarinus officinalis L.; Asparagus acutifolius L.

As regards the presence of Xylella fastidiosa in Corsica, France, the national Authorities have confirmed 104 outbreaks so far, with 250 positive cases (dated 5 October 2015), detected so far in 8 plant species, mostly ornamental plants, including Acer rubrum L. and Rosmarinus officinalis L..

Lastly, a number of Coffea plants for planting have been intercepted on several occasions during the past months in the Union territory.

Legal notice