## Question for written answer E-000402/2017 to the Commission Rule 130 Miguel Viegas (GUE/NGL)

Subject: List of non-cooperative territories in relation to money laundering

The Commission has submitted a delegated act to Parliament in the context of the fourth anti-money laundering directive (Directive (EU) 2015/849). The delegated act amends the list of high-risk third countries for which the directive lays down enhanced controls and due diligence measures to mitigate the risk of money laundering. An initial list was adopted by the Commission in summer 2016 and comprises the following jurisdictions: Afghanistan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Guyana, Iraq, Laos, Syria, Uganda, Vanuatu, Yemen, Iran and North Korea. The updated version comprises the same countries with the exception of Guyana, which has been removed. This list exactly reproduces the list drawn up by the Financial Action Task Force (FATF).

Why has the Commission not complied with Article 9 of Directive (EU) 2015/849 and carried out an independent evaluation instead of opting to copy the FATF list? Furthermore, does it not consider it necessary to include EU countries and territories within the scope of the directive rather than restricting it to third countries?