Go back to the Europarl portal

Choisissez la langue de votre document :

  • bg - български
  • es - español
  • cs - čeština
  • da - dansk
  • de - Deutsch
  • et - eesti keel
  • el - ελληνικά
  • en - English (Selected)
  • fr - français
  • ga - Gaeilge
  • hr - hrvatski
  • it - italiano
  • lv - latviešu valoda
  • lt - lietuvių kalba
  • hu - magyar
  • mt - Malti
  • nl - Nederlands
  • pl - polski
  • pt - português
  • ro - română
  • sk - slovenčina
  • sl - slovenščina
  • fi - suomi
  • sv - svenska
Parliamentary questions
PDF 103kWORD 20k
30 January 2018
Question for written answer E-000517-18
to the Commission
Rule 130
Fernando Ruas (PPE)

 Subject:  Recognition of optometry qualifications
 Answer in writing 

The Associação de Profissionais Licenciados em Optometria (APLO), Portugal’s association for qualified optometrists, has confirmed to me that the optometry qualifications are mutually recognised in a number of Member States: the Netherlands, Ireland, Malta, Denmark, the United Kingdom, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Latvia, Hungary, Spain, but also in countries in the European Economic Area — Iceland and Norway — and in Switzerland.

Indeed, and according to APLO, the profession is regulated in 16 European Economic Area countries (and in Switzerland); however, in 19 countries in the single market, optometry qualifications are not mutually recognised within the scope of EC law.

That fact is clearly an obstacle to the performance of the profession throughout the European Union, in full and with equal treatment, and it could even be argued that it constitutes a restriction to the freedom of establishment and the freedom to provide services for that profession.

1. Is the Commission aware of this situation?

2. What measures could be taken to ensure that the rights to freedom of establishment and to the freedom to provide optometry services are fully recognised in the EEA (including Switzerland)?

Original language of question: PT 
Last updated: 13 February 2018Legal notice