Go back to the Europarl portal

Choisissez la langue de votre document :

  • bg - български
  • es - español
  • cs - čeština
  • da - dansk
  • de - Deutsch
  • et - eesti keel
  • el - ελληνικά
  • en - English (Selected)
  • fr - français
  • ga - Gaeilge
  • hr - hrvatski
  • it - italiano
  • lv - latviešu valoda
  • lt - lietuvių kalba
  • hu - magyar
  • mt - Malti
  • nl - Nederlands
  • pl - polski
  • pt - português
  • ro - română
  • sk - slovenčina
  • sl - slovenščina
  • fi - suomi
  • sv - svenska
Parliamentary questions
PDF 190kWORD 19k
30 May 2018
Question for written answer E-002938-18
to the Commission
Rule 130
Sorin Moisă (PPE) , Dan Nica (S&D)

 Subject:  Divestment commitments in case M.8444 — ArcelorMittal/Ilva
 Answer in writing 

On 7 May 2018, the Commission approved under the EU Merger Regulation the acquisition of Ilva by ArcelorMittal on several conditions, among which that it divest production capacities at the integrated steel plant in Romania (Galati). The steel plant in Galati has over 6 000 employees and more than 10 000 jobs depend directly or indirectly on its survival as an active competitor of ArcelorMittal/Ilva. The steel plant is also key to the local economy (it represents by itself 15% of overall local/departmental turnover).

1. Was the effect on local jobs part of the Commission’s assessment that led to a decision in this case?

2. What conditions, if any, are envisaged in the Commission’s decision that would guarantee that the number of jobs be maintained at no lower than the current level?

3. Are there any guarantees in the Commission’s decision for consultation or the involvement of employees and trade unions in the process of the sale of the steel plant in Romania (Galati)?


(1)This question is supported by a Member other than the author: Mihai Ţurcanu (PPE), Daniel Buda (PPE), Cristian-Silviu Buşoi (PPE), Cristian Dan Preda (PPE), Theodor Dumitru Stolojan (PPE), Marian-Jean Marinescu (PPE), Csaba Sógor (PPE), Ramona Nicole Mănescu (PPE), Siegfried Mureşan (PPE), Adina-Ioana Vălean (PPE), Mircea Diaconu (ALDE), Renate Weber (ALDE), Răzvan Popa (S&D), Maria Gabriela Zoană (S&D), Maria Grapini (S&D), Andi Cristea (S&D), Emilian Pavel (S&D), Doru-Claudian Frunzulică (S&D), Claudia Țapardel (S&D), Victor Boştinaru (S&D), Claudiu Ciprian Tănăsescu (S&D), Ioan Mircea Paşcu (S&D), Cătălin Sorin Ivan (S&D), Iuliu Winkler (PPE), Norica Nicolai (ALDE).

Last updated: 12 June 2018Legal notice