Go back to the Europarl portal

Choisissez la langue de votre document :

  • bg - български
  • es - español
  • cs - čeština
  • da - dansk
  • de - Deutsch
  • et - eesti keel
  • el - ελληνικά
  • en - English (Selected)
  • fr - français
  • ga - Gaeilge
  • hr - hrvatski
  • it - italiano
  • lv - latviešu valoda
  • lt - lietuvių kalba
  • hu - magyar
  • mt - Malti
  • nl - Nederlands
  • pl - polski
  • pt - português
  • ro - română
  • sk - slovenčina
  • sl - slovenščina
  • fi - suomi
  • sv - svenska
Parliamentary questions
PDF 189kWORD 20k
30 May 2018
Question for written answer E-002939-18
to the Commission
Rule 130
Sorin Moisă (PPE) , Dan Nica (S&D)

 Subject:  Implementation of divestment commitments in case M.8444 — ArcelorMittal/Ilva
 Answer in writing 

On 7 May 2018, the Commission approved under the EU Merger Regulation the acquisition of Ilva by ArcelorMittal on several conditions, among which that it divest production capacities at the integrated steel plant in Romania (Galati). On 8 May 2018, the Commission approved the appointment of Grant Thornton UK LLP as monitoring trustee.

1. Will the monitoring trustee also act as divestiture trustee, overseeing the sale of the steel plant in Romania (Galati)?

2. If not, does the Commission intend to appoint a different divestiture trustee? What procedure will be used for the appointment?

3. Does the Commission have in place alternative solutions for continuously verifying each step of the process to ensure divestment commitments are respected?


(1)This question is supported by Members other than the authors: Mihai Ţurcanu (PPE), Daniel Buda (PPE), Cristian-Silviu Buşoi (PPE), Cristian Dan Preda (PPE), Theodor Dumitru Stolojan (PPE), Marian-Jean Marinescu (PPE), Csaba Sógor (PPE), Ramona Nicole Mănescu (PPE), Siegfried Mureşan (PPE), Adina-Ioana Vălean (PPE), Mircea Diaconu (ALDE), Renate Weber (ALDE), Răzvan Popa (S&D), Maria Gabriela Zoană (S&D), Maria Grapini (S&D), Andi Cristea (S&D), Emilian Pavel (S&D), Doru-Claudian Frunzulică (S&D), Claudia Țapardel (S&D), Victor Boştinaru (S&D), Claudiu Ciprian Tănăsescu (S&D), Ioan Mircea Paşcu (S&D), Cătălin Sorin Ivan (S&D), Iuliu Winkler (EPP).

Last updated: 12 June 2018Legal notice