Go back to the Europarl portal

Choisissez la langue de votre document :

  • bg - български
  • es - español
  • cs - čeština
  • da - dansk
  • de - Deutsch
  • et - eesti keel
  • el - ελληνικά
  • en - English (Selected)
  • fr - français
  • ga - Gaeilge
  • hr - hrvatski
  • it - italiano
  • lv - latviešu valoda
  • lt - lietuvių kalba
  • hu - magyar
  • mt - Malti
  • nl - Nederlands
  • pl - polski
  • pt - português
  • ro - română
  • sk - slovenčina
  • sl - slovenščina
  • fi - suomi
  • sv - svenska
Parliamentary questions
PDF 8kWORD 18k
5 December 2018
Answer given by High Representative/Vice-President Mogherini
Question reference: E-004872/2018

Since its inception in 2008, the Chaillot Prize honours local civil society organisations, public or private institutions, as well as individuals for their efforts in promoting general awareness of human rights and the rights of vulnerable groups in the Gulf Cooperation Council region.

The Prize is awarded on an alternate basis to institutions registered in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, in one year, and to applicants registered in the Kingdom of Bahrain, State of Qatar, State of Kuwait, Sultanate of Oman and the United Arab Emirates, in any other year. It represents one among several tools and instruments through which the EU carries out its human rights policy.

The decision to award the Prize in 2014 to Bahrain's National Institution for Human Rights and Ombudsman Office was well motivated at the time as an acknowledgment and further encouragement to the efforts and work of these newly established institutions, the first and only ones of the kind in the region. For the EU, in 2014, such institutions, created as a result of the Bahrain Independent Commission of Inquiry's (BICI) recommendations, deserved support and bolstering.

Since then, unfortunately the situation in Bahrain has substantially changed with shrinking political space and the human rights situation deteriorating. In its dialogue on human rights with Bahrain, the EU regularly stresses these aspects while advocating for the respect of Human Rights and fundamental freedoms as per Bahrain's international commitments, the BICI recommendations and the United Nations Universal Periodic Review process.

The list of the beneficiaries of the Chaillot prize since its inception (2008-2017) is as follows:

2008 Al-Nahda philanthropic society (KSA)

2009 Be Free Centre (Bahrain)

2010 Prize awarded ex aequo to the Multi-Purpose Women Cooperative (KSA) and to the Kuwait Lawyers Association (Kuwait). Second prize awarded to Tawasul Civil Society (Oman)

2011 Shafallah Centre for Children with Special Needs (Qatar)

Second prize awarded to the Prince Salman Centre for Disability Research (KSA)

Third prize awarded to the Alzheimer Disease Association (KSA)

2012 The Social Work Society (Kuwait)

2013 King Khalid Foundation‐ (KSA)

2014 Bahrain's National Institution for Human Rights and Ombudsman for the Ministry of Interior (Bahrain)

2015 Baladi Initiative, the Thulatha Cultural Forum and lifetime achievement of Ibrahim Al Mugaiteeb, in the peaceful and constructive promotion of Human Rights (KSA)

2016 Abolish Article 153 campaign (Kuwait)

2017 Glowork (KSA).

Last updated: 5 December 2018Legal notice