Go back to the Europarl portal

Choisissez la langue de votre document :

  • bg - български
  • es - español
  • cs - čeština
  • da - dansk
  • de - Deutsch
  • et - eesti keel
  • el - ελληνικά
  • en - English (Selected)
  • fr - français
  • ga - Gaeilge
  • hr - hrvatski
  • it - italiano
  • lv - latviešu valoda
  • lt - lietuvių kalba
  • hu - magyar
  • mt - Malti
  • nl - Nederlands
  • pl - polski
  • pt - português
  • ro - română
  • sk - slovenčina
  • sl - slovenščina
  • fi - suomi
  • sv - svenska
Parliamentary questions
PDF 23kWORD 20k
2 August 2019
Answer given by Vice-President Dombrovskis on behalf of the European Commission
Question reference: E-001759/2019

The European Commission oversees the application of European Union law by the Member States. The European Union has not adopted legislation concerning either the use of toponyms in Cyprus or financial grants made by Member States to organisations located in the areas of the Republic of Cyprus not under the effective control of the government of the Republic of Cyprus. As a result, the European Commission has no grounds to take up these issues with a Member State.

In addition, as regards any matter related to the application of EC law in the areas of the Republic of Cyprus not under the effective control of the Government of the Republic of Cyprus, under Protocol 10 of the Accession Treaty of Cyprus to the European Union, the acquis communautaire is suspended in these areas.

The European Commission and President Juncker remain fully committed to a fair, comprehensive and viable settlement of the Cyprus problem within the United Nations (UN) framework, in accordance with the relevant UN Security Council resolutions and in line with the principles on which the EU is founded.

Last updated: 5 August 2019Legal notice