Main menu (press 'Enter')
Access to page content (press 'Enter')
Direct access to list of other websites (press 'Enter')

Political groups

European Parliament: how to elect…
  1. The political groups

    The members of the European Parliament sit in political groups. These are organised by political affiliation and not by nationality.

    Each group possesses a chair (or two co-chairs in the case of some groups), a bureau and a secretariat.

    A group needs:
    • a minimum of 25 MEPs
    • To represent at least one fourth of member states.

    Non-attached Members: Members do not belong to any political group.

    The conference of presidents
    President of Parliament + the chairs of the political groups
    The Conference of Presidents is the key forum where the President and the leaders of political groups meet. It sets the direction for Parliament's political course, deciding on priorities and setting the plenary agenda. It is also responsible for the composition and competences of Parliament's diverse committees and delegations.

There are currently seven political groups in the European parliament. As in any other parliament, they play an important role in influencing the decisions the Parliament takes. Unlike other parliaments, political groups bring together members from different nationalities.

Before every vote in plenary the political groups scrutinise the reports drawn up by the parliamentary committees and table amendments to them. None of the political groups in the European Parliament has a majority, so groups have to seek support from other groups to make sure their amendments are adopted. The position adopted by the political groups is arrived at by discussion within the group. No MEP can be forced to vote in a particular way.