skip to content

Cookie policy on the European Parliament Liaison Office in Ireland website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


Delegation from European Parliament's Economic and Monetary Affairs Committee to visit Ireland this week

A senior delegation of MEPs from the European Parliament's Economic and Monetary Affairs Committee will arrive this week to look at the impact of the financial crisis here in Ireland.  Among others, the delegation will meet the Governor of the Central Bank, the Financial Regulator, the Chief Executive of the National Treasury Management Agency and representatives from the Irish Congress of Trade Unions and the Irish Business and Employers Confederation. Speaking ahead of the visit, the Chairperson of the Committee, British MEP Sharon Bowles, said that 'our mission to Ireland is to gain a deeper understanding of the crisis Europe finds itself in and how we can all dig ourselves out of the hole we are in.'

The official delegation will include Fine Gael MEP Gay Mitchell, British MEP Arlene McCarthy, Portuguese MEP Elisa Ferreira, Estonian MEP Ivari Padar and Polish MEP Danuta Jazlowiecka.

On Wednesday, 25 May, the delegation will meet the following:
- John Corrigan
Chief Executive, National Treasury Management Agency (NTMA)
- Patrick Honohan
Governor, Central Bank
and Matthew Elderfield
Head of Financial Regulation, Central Bank
- Pat Farrell
Chief Executive of the Irish Banking Federation
- Frances Ruane (Director) and Joe Durkan
Economic and Social Research Institute (ESRI).  

The Delegation will also meet with members of the special Dáil Committee on a Common Consolidated Corporate Tax Base (CCCTB), chaired by Fine Gael TD Charles Flanagan.

On Thursday, 26 May, the Delegation will meet the following.
- David Begg (General Secretary) and Paul Sweeney
Irish Congress of Trade Unions (ICTU)
- Brendan Howlin TD
Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform
- Rory O'Donnell
Director, National Economic and Social Council (NESC)
- Danny McCoy
Director General, Irish Business and Employers Confederation (IBEC)

The Chairperson of the Committee will hold a Press Conference on Thursday, 26 May at European Union House, 43 Molesworth Street, Dublin 2.  The Press Conference will begin at 1pm.

1.  The Economic and Monetary Affairs Committee is the primary committee involved in realising the European Parliament's legislative responsibility in key areas such as the revision of rules relating to financial regulation, in the context of the current financial crisis; European Monetary Union and issues relating to the eurozone; the EU's competition policy; and the EU's policies in relation to taxation and coordination in that area.

2.  On Friday, 27 May, the Committee's Chairperson, Sharon Bowles MEP will address the Institute of International and European Affairs in Dublin (, under the title 'EU Financial and Economic Legislation - Pulling in the same direction?'


For further information, please contact Eimear Ní Bhroin, Press Officer at 086 8559423 or