skip to content

Cookie policy on the European Parliament Liaison Office in Ireland website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


European Citizen’s Prize Award ceremony, Garage Theatre, Monaghan

Border Communities Against Brexit is among the 50 winners of the European Citizen's Prize 2017. The national award ceremony will take place in the Garage Theatre, Monaghan Town on Friday 14th July at 7.00 pm. The public are welcome to attend.  MEP Matt Carthy said: “Border Communities Against Brexit was nominated for the European Citizens Prize by the four Sinn Féin MEPs and by independent MEPs Nessa Childers and Marian Harkin." 

"That this cross-sectoral, cross-border community led group have won the prize is a fantastic endorsement of the great work carried out by its members and the communities which form its backbone.

We are looking forward to the ceremony to celebrate the work of Border Communities Against Brexit to date but also because the presentation of the award will provide another great opportunity to highlight Irish concerns regarding Brexit at an international level.

The prize giving ceremony which will be attended by the nominating MEPs is a perfect chance for people across the border region to highlight our thanks to BCAD for their work to date but also to send a powerful message that our concerns regarding Brexit remain as live as ever. I urge as many people as possible to attend the ceremony which will include some musical entertainment and at which light refreshments will be served”.




Two Irish winners of the European Citizen's Prize 2017