skip to content

Cookie policy on the European Parliament Liaison Office in Ireland website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


Galway students to visit European Parliament in Strasbourg

Secondary school students from St Mary's College, Galway, will participate in the European Parliament's Euroscola programme in Strasbourg today.  They will get the opportunity today to experience what it is like to be an MEP.  They will work with students from the EU's other 26 Member States on a range of current issues and will then vote on their decisions later in the day.  All students nominated to speak during the final part of the programme will speak in a language other than their own (i.e. French, German, etc.).  The 15 students participating in the Euroscola programme today will be accompanied by their teacher, Maura Geoghegan and their Principal, Bartley Fannin.

The St Mary's College students participating in today's Euroscola programme are:
Ronan Higgins, Aengus O'Curraidhín, James Casserly, Alex O'Toole, Myles Upton, Brian Madden and Colm Byrne (pictured left to right in back row of above photo) and James McMahon, David Mooney, Paul Colleran, Fiachra Davoren, Harry Goulding, Conor Duffy and Kevin Naughton  (pictured left to right in front row of above photo).


For further information, please contact Eimear Ní Bhroin, Press Officer at or 086 8559423 or visit