skip to content

Cookie policy on the European Parliament Liaison Office in Ireland website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


Leaders of the European Parliament visit Ireland 29-30 November

On Thursday and Friday the leaders of the European Parliament, led by Martin Schulz, President of the European Parliament, will be in Dublin for a series of meetings with the Irish government in the run up to the Irish Presidency of the EU.

On the occasion of the visit President Schulz said:

"The Irish Presidency comes at a crucial time for the European Union, and I have full confidence in the Presidency as it is well-prepared. The European Parliament will work closely with the Irish Presidency to get Europe back on track, be it through banking supervision legislation, adopting an ambitious budget for the Union, or through the implementation of the European Semester. This will be Ireland's seventh Presidency of the European Union and 2013 will also mark Ireland's 40th anniversary in the Union - I have full confidence that Ireland and rest of the EU will return to the path of sustainable growth."

Details of the meeting

President Schulz will meet Taoiseach Enda Kenny and Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore ahead of the Conference of Presidents at 15.15 in Dublin Castle. A press conference is planned for 15.45. At 16.15, the Conference of Presidents will meet the Taoiseach, the Tánaiste and the Irish government.

On Friday, the Conference of Presidents will meet the Speakers of the two Houses of the Irish Parliament, the chairs of political groups and Ireland's Minister for Europe.  Later, President Schulz will hold a meeting with the President of Ireland, Michael D. Higgins.


The Conference of Presidents consists of the President of Parliament and the chairmen of the political group. It organises the work of the European Parliament and its bodies and is responsible for:

  • the organisation of Parliament's business and legislative planning
  • deciding the responsibilities and membership of committees and delegations
  • relations with other EU institutions, the national parliaments and non-EU countries.


Martin SCHULZ, President of the European Parliament, Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats, Germany

Joseph DAUL, Group of the European People's Party (Christian Democrats), Chair, France

Hannes SWOBODA, Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats in the European Parliament, Chair, Austria

Antonyia PARVANOVA, Group of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe, Vice-Chair, Bulgaria

Gabriele ZIMMER, Confederal Group of the European United Left - Nordic Green Left, Chair, Germany

Emilie TURUNEN, Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance, Vice-Chair, Denmark

Jan ZAHRADIL, European Conservatives and Reformists Group, Vice-Chair, Czech Republic

Jacek Olgierd KURSKI, Europe of Freedom and Democracy Group, First Vice-Chair/Member of the Bureau, Poland

Francisco SOSA WAGNER, Non-attached Member, Spain