skip to content

Cookie policy on the European Parliament Liaison Office in Ireland website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


Official Visit to Dublin of Martin Schulz, President of the European Parliament

Martin Schulz has been a Member of the European Parliament since 1994. He led the SPD MEPs from 2000 and was subsequently elected Vice-Chair of the Socialist MEPs.

In 2004 he was elected group leader of the second largest group in the European Parliament. As leader of the Socialists and Democrats in the European Parliament, Martin Schulz campaigned for social justice, promoting jobs and growth, reforming financial markets, fighting climate change, championing equality and creating a stronger and more democratic Europe.

Martin Schulz was elected President of the European Parliament on 17 January 2012 for a mandate of two and half years.

When: Wednesday 3rd and Thursday 4th October

Wednesday, 3 October 2012

11:00              Welcome by Ruairi Quinn, Minister for Education and Skills

13.00              Meeting with social partners to discuss economic and social situation in Ireland

15:30              Visit to the Digital Skills Academy, EU funded project

17:30              Meeting with student representatives - University College Dublin

18:00              Europe debate at the University College Dublin

20:00              Bilateral meeting with the Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore, followed by a press point - Iveagh House

Thursday, 4 October 2012

09:00              Visit to the National Library of Ireland

10:00              Meeting with Seán Barrett, Ceann Comhairle of the Dáil Éireann and Patrick Burke, Cathaoirleach of Seanad Éireann

10:30              Plenary address - Chamber of Dáil Éireann

12:15              Bilateral meeting with Taoiseach Enda Kenny, followed by a press point - Government Buildings

Link to speech of President Schulz at Dáil Éireann, 4 October 2012
Link to website of President of European Parliament