skip to content

Cookie policy on the European Parliament Office in Ireland website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


Sakharov Prize for Freedom and Thought

The Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought is awarded each year by the European Parliament to individuals who have made an exceptional contribution to the fight for human rights across the globe, drawing attention to human rights violations as well as supporting the laureates and their cause.

The 2016 Sakharov Prize was awarded to Nadia Murad Basee and Lamiya Aji Bashar on 13 December 2016 in Strasbourg. . Since escaping sexual enslavement by Islamic State, the two Iraqi Yazidi women have become human rights campaigners. Yazidis have been subject to a genocidal campaign by Islamic State since 2014 with thousands killed or enslaved. Watch the recording of the ceremony below.

Find out more about the Sakharov Prize

Sakharov prize events in UCD, TCD, UCC and NUIG

Each year, the European Parliament Information Office in Ireland organises debates with human rights students to promote awareness on the individual human rights issues to which the prize relates. This year's debates took place with students from UCD, TCD, UCC and NUIG.