skip to content

Cookie policy on the European Parliament Liaison Office in Ireland website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


Students from St Colman's Secondary School head to Strasbourg

A group of 11 students from St Colman's Secondary School in Claremorris, Co Mayo will travel to Strasbourg today to participate in the European Parliament's Euroscola programme. They were joint winners of the annual Model European Council debate which took place in Dublin Castle on 24 March. The other winners were from Arklow Community College in Wicklow.

32 secondary schools from across Ireland took part. Each school had a team of three students and each school took on the role of a different EU Member State, an EU institution or an interest group to debate a proposal for an EU directive on renewable energy targets - that all EU Member States should produce 50% of their energy from renewable energy sources by 2020. St Colman's represented Cyprus.  Arklow Community College represented Greece.  

The three students on the team from St Colman's were John Nolan, Conor Waters and David Parsons.