skip to content

Cookie policy on the European Parliament Liaison Office in Ireland website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


Workshop for media students - Friday, 7 May

The EU Communication Challenge

On Friday, 7 May, the European Parliament and European Commission offices in Ireland are organising a special workshop for media students to address 'the EU Communication Challenge'.  Participants will hear from former RTÉ Europe Editor, Seán Whelan, the spokesperson for the EU's new High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security, Darren Ennis and Independent MEP Marian Harkin, about their experiences with this challenge.  The participants will then be invited to take on the challenge for themselves in interactive workshops.  Places will be allocated on a 'first-come, first-served' basis.

The event, on Friday, 7 May, will begin with a 15-minute whistle-stop tour of the EU, courtesy of UCD's Dr Ben Tonra.  Seán Whelan, Darren Ennis and Marian Harkin MEP will then give participants their views on the EU Communication Challenge and the students will be invited to try it for themselves (with the assistance of the speakers, Press Officers and journalists).  Finally, the results of the workshops will be played for all to hear and participants will discuss their experiences with the speakers.

To register for the workshop, please download our registration form, complete it and send by email to

The poster for the workshop can be viewed at this link:


The European Parliament and European Commission offices are also organising a competition on the same theme.  Students are invited to submit an example of their work, suitable for publication (print media) or broadcast (TV or radio), which they believe represents the successful communication of an EU issue.  The winning student will participate in a two-day seminar for working journalists which will take place in Brussels later this year.  All entries should be submitted to the European Parliament, 43 Molesworth Street by 5pm on Tuesday, 15 June.

For further information, please contact