skip to content

Cookie policy on the European Parliament Liaison Office in Ireland website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


EFDD group collapsed, election Sakharov Prize postponed

With the announcement by Latvian MEP Iveta Grigule that she is leaving the EFDD, that political group no longer has members from the minimum of seven member states and has therefore effectively ceased to exist. The Conference of Presidents (EP President and political group leaders) meeting today was therefore not able to choose the 2014 Sakharov Prize winner from a shortlist of three. That decision has now been postponed to next Tuesday.

At the same meeting on Tuesday, the Conference of Presidents will evaluate the outcome of two additional hearings of Commissioners-designate taking place next Monday. At 7 p.m. the Environment and Industry committees will hear Maroš Šefčovič, who has been given the new portfolio of energy union, while the Transport Committee will hear Violeta Bulc, the new candidate for Slovenia.