skip to content

Cookie policy on the European Parliament Liaison Office in Ireland website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


European Parliament launches 2011 Prize for Journalists

On Friday, 14 January, the European Parliament launched the 2011 Prize for Journalists.  The EP Prize for Journalism is awarded each year in four categories - print, radio, television and online - to journalists who have written an article or worked on a programme which clarified an EU issue or promoted a better understanding of the EU's policies. In 2010, an Irish radio entry, submitted by Máirín Ní Ghadhra of Raidió na Gaeltachta, was selected to compete at European level by a panel of Irish journalists (see photo).  The closing date for the 2011 prize is 31 March.

View further information about the prize - rules, application forms, etc.

Each category winner at European level receives €5000. The 2010 prizes were awarded to journalists from Hungary, Poland, Sweden and the United Kingdom.  

View further information about previous winners.

For any additional information, please contact Eimear Ní Bhroin, Press Officer at or on 086 8559423.