skip to content

Cookie policy on the European Parliament Liaison Office in Ireland website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


European Parliament Prize for Journalism 2011 Award Ceremony


The European Parliament's fourth annual prize for excellence in journalism will be awarded by President Jerzy Buzek on Wednesday 19 October. The prize goes to journalists who have covered major European issues or promoted a better understanding of EU institutions and policies. The award ceremony starts at 09.00h in the plenary chamber.

Juries of journalists in each EU Member State selected 64 national winners: 21 in the written press category, 16 for radio, 15 in the television category and 12 for internet. The award jury in Brussels, composed of three MEPs and six journalists, has since selected one final EU winner for each category: written press, radio, TV and the Internet. Each winner will receive €5000.

Award ceremony

President Jerzy Buzek will award the prize to the EU-wide winners at a ceremony in Parliament's plenary chamber. There will then be a panel discussion titled: "Nothing is impossible: reporting on human rights and international conflicts".

The event will be web-streamed on Parliament's EP Live web site. The national winners from EU Member States will attend the event, as well as 60 young journalists who are participating in a workshop hosted by the European Parliament.

Irish Entries

This year's Irish nominees are Jamie Smyth, Social Affairs Correspondent with The Irish Times for his article on 'Ireland's sham marriage scam' and Ellen Gunning of Dublin City FM, for her interview with European Commissioner Máire Geoghegan Quinn, as part of her series, The EU and You.

Practical information

The award ceremony takes place on Wednesday, 19 October, in Parliament's plenary chamber, Paul-Henri Spaak building. The event is scheduled to start at 09.00h and finish at 11.30h.

Press point

Journalists will be able to interview the winners and the members of the panel during a press point in front of the plenary chamber at 11.45h