skip to content

Cookie policy on the European Parliament Liaison Office in Ireland website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


LUX prize 2014: 10 finalists revealed

10 films, 28 countries, one prize. Every year the European Parliament awards the LUX prize to the best in European cinema. The contenders for this year's Prize have been announced at the 49th Karlovy Vary International Film Festival in the Czech Republic. Read on to discover which films have are included in this year’s selection. The three finalists will be announced at the end of July.

The European Parliament awards the LUX Prize each year to help promote European cinema, make films accessible to larger audiences and encourage debate about values and social issues across Europe.

The official selection for the 2014 LUX Prize is (in alphabetical order):

  • Bande des filles (Girlhood), by Céline Sciamma – France
  • Class enemy (Razrednl Sovraznik), by Rok Biček - Slovenia
  • Hermosa juventud (Beautiful Youth), by Jaime Rosales – Spain
  • Ida, by Pawel Pawlikowski – Poland, Denmark
  • Le meraviglie (The Wonders), by Alice Rohrwacher - Italy, Switzerland, Germany
  • Macondo, by Sudabeh Mortezai – Austria
  • Stations of the cross, by Dietrich Brüggemann - Germany
  • Turist (Force majeure), by Ruben Östlund - Sweden, France
  • White god, by Kornél Mundruczó - Hungary, Germany, Sweden
  • Xenia, by Panos H. Koutras - Greece, France, Belgium

The nominations were revealed by Mrs. Doris Pack, LUX Prize coordinator,  Mrs. Olga Sehnalova, Member of the European Parliament (S&D, Czech Republic) and Mr. Karel Och, Artistic Director of the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival and member of the LUX Prize Selection Panel. 

This year  the public  can also chose its favourite film from the 2013 LUX selection, by  voting on Facebook and the official LUX Prize web site . This was a very successful  and appreciated innovation introduced for the first time for the 2013 Prize,  when the award went to the LUX Prize winner - The Broken Circle Breakdown.