skip to content

Two Irish Winners of European Parliament European Citizen’s Prize 2017

People and organisations from across EU came to Parliament on 11 October for the Citizen's Prize award ceremony in recognition of their contributions to Europe.


This year two groups from Ireland were winners of the European Citizens Prize.

Since 2008, this prestigious award has recognised projects and initiatives that facilitate cross-border cooperation or promote mutual understanding and EU values.  Foróige was nominated by Sean Kelly MEP. Foróige in Ireland works with more than 50,000 young people aged 10-18 through 650 youth clubs and 160 youth projects and programmes such as entrepreneurship, health and wellbeing, citizenship and leadership.

Border Communities against Brexit is a cross community and non-party political group set up as a direct response to the Brexit referendum. Members include farmers, business people, frontier workers, concerned citizens and community groups.Border Communities Against Brexit was nominated for the prize by Matt Carthy MEP, Liadh Ni Riada MEP, Lynn Boylan MEP, Marian Harkin MEP and Nessa Childers

The European Citizen's Prize is given every year to projects and initiatives that contribute to European cooperation and the promotion of common values. After having received medals in ceremonies in their own countries, the laureates gathered in Brussels for a central award ceremony.

Parliament Vice-President Sylvie Guillaume, a French member of the S&D group, said: "The European Parliament is here to shed a light on these successful projects. Our citizens have a voice, and the European Citizen's Prize perfectly demonstrates that we are listening to them."

These year’s winners include 49 people and organisations from 26 EU countries.

For the full list of winners, click here.