skip to content
EP plenary

Irish MEPs 1973-2014


Ireland became a member of the then European Economic Community (EEC) on 1 January 1973.  Ireland was initially allocated 15 seats in the European Parliament.  At that time, before direct elections were introduced, all MEPs were nominated by national parliaments.

The first direct elections to the European Parliament took place in 1979.  Member States were free to choose the electoral system used to elect Members.  Ireland used its traditional single transferable vote procedure across four constituencies.  Over different elections the borders of the constituencies changed and in 2014, the number of constitutencies were reduced from four to three. 

Ireland elected 15 MEPs in 1979 but that number was reduced to 13 for the 2004 elections, to 12 for the 2009 elections and to 11 for the 2014 elections as part of the redistribution of seats that was necessary as a result of the enlargement of the EU.

Click on the links below for details of the MEPS, and where relevant their replacements, since 1973.

Irish MEPs: 2009-2014
Irish MEPs: 2004-2009
Irish MEPs: 1999-2004
Irish MEPs: 1994-1999
Irish MEPs: 1989-1994
Irish MEPs: 1984-1989
Irish MEPs: 1979-1984
Irish MEPs: 1973-1979