skip to content

Cookie policy on the European Parliament Liaison Office in Ireland website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


Ambassador School Programme

The European Parliament Ambassador School Programme for post-primary schools was launched in Ireland in 2015 and now has 60 schools across Ireland taking part.

What’s involved?

Senior Ambassadors (teachers) take students through the Ambassador School Workbook provided by the European Parliament.

Junior Ambassadors set up an EU Info Point which may be web-based or on school premises.

Junior Ambassadors organise a Europe Day event, for example,

  • European music festival
  • European food tasting day
  • Debate on a European issue
  • Meet your MEP
  • EU Quiz
  • Mock European election

Schools are encouraged to ETwin with other schools in the programme across the EU.  An optional activity is to follow the European Parliament on Facebook/Twitter and to post news, blogs etc.

Junior Ambassadors are selected by their teacher for showing enthusiasm and involvement in the programme throughout the year and will receive a special Junior Ambassador Certificate.  All other students completing the programme receive a Certificate of participation.

Teachers receive training and an EPAS Handbook that introduces them to the role.  The training day is an opportunity to network with other teachers in the programme. 

School evaluations are carried out and each successful school is awarded an EPAS plaque.  Schools are invited to an Award Ceremony where they are presented with their plaque.  Schools unable to attend the Ceremony are encouraged to invite an MEP to the school to present the plaque on behalf of the European Parliament (e.g. at their TY Graduation Day).

Registrations are now closed.  To be included on the list for 2019-2020 academic year please email:





Ambassador School Euroscola Logo Competition

Congratulations to The King's Hospital School, Palmerstown who have won first prize in our Special Ambassador School Euroscola Competition.

The prize is a subsidised trip to Strasbourg to represent Ireland at Euroscola where young people become an MEP for a day.


Check out the highly commended entries below. Well done to everyone!



EPAS Logo - St. Columba's EPAS Logo - Mercy Mounthawk EPAS Logo - Adamstown CC EPAS Logo - CBC Cork EPAS Logo - Ballymohan Vocational School EPAS Logo - Mercy College Sligo

Schools taking part in 2017-2018

Dublin: Adamstown Community College, Adamstown; Holy Family Community School, Rathcoole; Our Lady of Mercy College, Beaumont; St. Joseph's Secondary School, Rush; The King's Hospital School, Palmerstown; St Aidan's CBS, Whitehall and John Scottus Secondary School, Rathmichael.

Midlands North West: Ballymahon Vocational School, Co. Longford; Carrigallen Vocational School, Co. Leitrim; Mercy College, Sligo; Oaklands Community College, Edenderry; Presentation College Athenry; St. Columba's College, Stranorlar; Patrician High School, Carrickmacross; St Wolstans Community School, Celbridge; St. Joseph's Secondary School, Castlebar; St Oliver's Community College, Drogheda; Maynooth Post Primary School; St. Brigid's College, Loughrea; Banagher College, Co. Offaly; Loreto College, Drumkeen; Summerhill College Sligo; Marist College, Athlone; Mullingar Community College and Coláiste Chairáin, Leixlip.

South: Christian Brothers College, Cork; Coláiste Chiaráin, Croom; Coláiste Nano Nagle, Limerick; De la Salle College, Waterford; Mercy Mounthawk, Tralee; Nenagh College; St. Anne's Community College, Killaloe; St. Mary's College, Arklow; Gaelcholáiste na Mara, Arklow; Presentation Secondary School, Thurles; Coláiste Chill Mhantain, Burkeen; Killorglin Community College; CBS Carrick on Suir; Skibereen Community School; Loreto Secondary School, Fermoy and St. Leo's College, Carlow.