skip to content

Cookie policy on the European Parliament Office in Ireland website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


Meath Co. Council Schools Debating Competition Celebrating 40 years of European Integration

This year’s final took place on Friday, 17th May and was held at the European Commission’s Food and Veterinary Office in Grange, Co. Meath.  The motion this year was "Ireland has achieved much to date in its EU Presidency"

Scoil Mhuire in Trim proposed the motion while St. Patrick’s Classical School, Navan, opposed.  A very lively debate ensued and the judges found it very close to call.  However, Scoil Mhuire, Trim, was victorious on the day and will travel to participate in Euroscola in November this year.The judges this year were Cllr Niamh McGowan, Cathaoirleach, Meath County Council, Anne McEvoy-Smyth, European Parliament Office, Dublin and Izaskun El Busto Saenz, F.V.O. European Commission, Grange.

Congratulations to the winning team : Caoimhe Byrne, Team Captain, Carolanna Foley, Clare Vickery and Aisling O'Connell at Scoil Mhuire, Trim