skip to content

Cookie policy on the European Parliament Office in Ireland website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


O'Carolan College Triumph


The final of the Meath Co. Council inter-schools debating competition was held on Wednesday, 21st May at the European Commission’s Food and Veterinary Office in Grange, Co. Meath.  

The finalists this year were Scoil Mhuire, Trim and O’Carolan College, Nobber.  The motion "The EU should grant full membership to all European states that wish to join the EU" brought out the best in both teams.

The standard was very high and first prize went to O’Carolan College from Nobber.  The team of four won the prize of a subsidised trip to Strasbourg for 24 students to represent Ireland at Euroscola on 30th October.

The judges this year were Cllr Maria Murphy, Meath County Council, Anne McEvoy-Smyth, European Parliament Office, Dublin and Elisabetta Ravarino-Healy, F.V.O. European Commission, Grange.