skip to content

Cookie policy on the European Parliament Office in Ireland website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


St Brigids Presentation Secondary School travelled to Strasbourg

A group of 25 year transition and fifth year students from Killarney attended the Euroscola Programme of the European Parliament in Strasbourg on 9 May to mark Europe Day and the 60th Anniversary of the "Schuman Declaration".

A group of fifth and transition year students from St Brigid's Secondary School, Killarney, accompanied by four teachers, travelled to Strasbourg to take part in the Euroscola programme on Sunday, 9 May.  "Europe Day" marks the first step toward the creation of the European Union.  On 9 May 1950 Robert Schuman, the French foreign minister, proposed the establishment of a new era of co-operation between France and Germany, through the pooling of the coal and steel production of both countries.  The process resulting from the "Schuman Declaration" eventually led to a series of treaties between several European countries and the formation of the European Union of 27 Member States that we know today.

Following a flag raising ceremony, the St Brigid's group joined contingents from the other 26 member states of the Union in the Chamber of the European Parliament.  This year, the Presidents of both the European Parliament (Jerzy Buzek) and European Council (Herman Von Rumpuy) addressed the students in the Chamber of the Parliament.

Back (left to right):  Lauren O Sullivan, Shannon Dineen, Norita Cashman, Anna Kerrisk, Shaena Maher, Lorraine Cremins, Helena O Donoghue, Julie Cronin, Laura Helihy, Naomi O Connell.
Centre(left to right)Caroline Hennigan (teacher), Cliodhna O Donoghue, Mairead O Sullivan, Katie O Connor, Clair Tangney, Anne O Riordan, Julianna Crowley, Danielle O'Sullivan, Michell Horan, Eimear Foley, Miriam Malone (teacher).
Front (left to right) Mary O Rourke (teacher), Siobhan Murphy, Aisling Brennan, Thea Eldred, Margaret Mc Cormack, (Principal), Chloe Goulding, Kate Looney, Heather O Donoghue.

For further information pleae contact Marie Quinn at