



STORTINGET

EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT

27th EU - Norway Interparliamentary Meeting

Brussels, 20 June 2011

JOINT PRESS RELEASE

The 27th EU-Norway Interparliamentary Meeting was held in Brussels today.

The European Parliament's delegation, led by **Mr Pat the Cope GALLAGHER** (chairperson, ALDE, Ireland), hosted the meeting with the Norwegian delegation, led by its chairperson **Ms Ine Marie ERIKSEN SØREIDE** (Conservative Party).

Both delegations have expressed their satisfaction with the close political and economic ties between the EU and Norway and stressed the vital cooperation in many important policy areas, such as Common Foreign and Security Policy, energy policy, High North region and environment.

In addition, the Interparliamentary Meeting was focused on the following topics:

- Relations between the European Union and Norway with addresses by: - *H.E. Mrs. Oda Helen SLETNES*, Ambassador of Norway to the EU,
 - *Mr Gianluca GRIPPA*, Head of Western Europe Unit, European External Action Service;
- Parliamentary Scrutiny of the EU Common Foreign and Security Policy / Common Security and Defence Policy, in particular following the dissolution of the Western European Union Assembly in June 2011;
- The situation in the Middle East and North Africa, including developments in Libya;
- Development of the EU legislation, including the Third Postal Services, Data Retention and Deposit Guarantee Scheme Directives;
- Fisheries policies, with regard to the reform of EU Common Fisheries Policy as well as management of mackerel stocks.

The next Interparliamentary Meeting is scheduled to take place in 2012 in Norway.

Members of the European Parliament present:

Mr Pat the Cope GALLAGHER Ms Anna HEDH Mr Thomas ULMER Mr Indrek TARAND Mr Michael GAHLER Ms Jolanta Emilia HIBNER ALDE, Ireland (Chairperson) S&D, Sweden (1st Vice-Chairperson) EPP, Germany (2nd Vice-Chairperson) Greens/EFA, Estonia EPP, Germany EPP, Poland

Members of Stortinget present:

Ms Ine Eriksen SØREIDE Mr Svein Roald HANSEN Mr Sverre MYRLI Ms Laila GUSTAVSEN Mr Tore NORDTUN Mr Morten HØGLUND Mr Peter GITMARK Mr Ivar KRISTIANSEN Mr Willy PEDERSEN Conservative Party (Chairperson) Labour Party (Vice-Chairperson) Labour Party Labour Party Labour Party Progress Party Conservative Party Conservative Party Labour Party

For further information please contact:

Michal MALOVEC European Parliament Tel. 00 32 2 283 2241 E-mail: <u>michal.malovec@europarl.europa.eu</u>

Øystein BØ Stortinget (Norwegian Parliament) Tel. 00 47 23 31 35 13 Mob. 00 47 90 10 47 20 E-mail: <u>oyb@stortinget.no</u>