

COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION



Brussels, 25 August 2009 12726/1/09 REV 1 (Presse 251) P 101/09

Declaration by the Presidency on behalf of the European Union on the elections in Afghanistan

The European Union congratulates the people of Afghanistan on the holding of Presidential and Provincial elections under challenging circumstances, emphasizing the need for a continued credible and inclusive process.

While deploring the loss of life, we believe that the security measures successfully prevented any major disruptions of the elections. We commend Afghan National Security Forces, supported by international forces, for this effort.

The EU Election Observation Mission headed by General Morillon is playing a key role in providing an independent and impartial assessment of the elections. The EU fully supports the work and efforts of the EOM, who will continue to be present until the proclamation of the final results, and welcomes its report, containing preliminary findings on the elections.

PRESS

The EU takes note with concern of reports of irregularities and fraud. We trust that the Independent Election Commission, the Electoral Complaints Commission and the Media Complaints Commission will address all irregularities in a conscientious, transparent, impartial and timely manner.

The EU calls on all stakeholders to promote national unity and stability, to refrain from pre-judging any results, and to resort only to legal means and the appropriate state institutions for the resolution of disputes and complaints. Acknowledging that Afghanistan is now entering a new phase in the electoral process, the EU calls on all candidates to show continued responsibility and respect for the principles of democracy.

The Candidate Countries Croatia* and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova, Armenia, Azerbaijan and Georgia align themselves with this declaration.

* Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.