# United Nations General Assembly



#### **Election**

### **Human Rights Council**

The election of 14 members of the Human Rights Council will be held on **13 May 2010**. See <u>List of candidates</u> | <u>List of current members</u>

In accordance with paragraph 7 of General Assembly <u>resolution 60/251</u> "the Council shall consist of forty-seven Member States, which shall be elected directly and individually by secret ballot by the majority of the members of the General Assembly; the membership shall be based on equitable geographical distribution, and seats shall be distributed as follows among regional groups: Group of African States, thirteen; Group of Asian States, thirteen; Group of Eastern European States, six; Group of Latin American and Caribbean States, eight; and Group of Western European and other States, seven; the members of the Council shall serve for a period of three years and shall not be eligible for immediate re-election after two consecutive terms".

Member States who have chosen to announce their candidacies in writing are listed below.

Voluntary pledges that Member States have chosen to provide in support of their respective candidacies, in accordance with paragraph 8 of General Assembly resolution 60/251, are issued as General Assembly documents in all official languages.

**FAQs** 

Past elections: <u>2009</u> | <u>2008</u> | <u>2007</u> | <u>2006</u>

#### List of candidates

African States (4 vacant seats)	Asian States (4 vacant seats)	Eastern European States (2 vacant seats)	Latin American & Caribbean States (2 vacant seats)	Western European & other States (2 vacant seats)
	Islamic Republic of Iran	Poland [A/64/709]	Ecuador	<u>Spain</u> [A/64/704]
	Malaysia	Republic of Moldova [A/64/729]	Guatemala [A/64/730]	Switzerland [A/64/726]
	Maldives [A/64/657]			
	Qatar			
	<u>Thailand</u> [A/64/687]			

## List of current members

Members outlined in bold will retire on 18 June 2010.

African States (13 seats)	Asian States (13 seats)	Eastern European States (6 seats)	Latin American & Caribbean States (8 seats)	Western European & other States (7 seats)
Angola 2010	Bahrain 2011	Bosnia and Herzegovina 2010	Argentina 2011	Belgium 2012
Burkina Faso 2011	Bangladesh 2012	Hungary 2012	Bolivia (Plurinational State of) 2010	France 2011
Cameroon 2012	China 2012	Russian Federation 2012	Brazil 2011	Italy 2010
Djibouti 2012	India 2010	Slovakia 2011	Chile 2011	Netherlands 2010
Egypt 2010	Indonesia 2010	Slovenia 2010	Cuba 2012	Norway 2012
Gabon 2011	Japan 2011	Ukraine 2011	Mexico 2012	United Kingdom 2011
Ghana 2011	Jordan 2012		Nicaragua 2010	United States 2012
Madagascar 2010	Kyrgyzstan 2012		Uruguay 2012	
Mauritius 2012	Pakistan 2011			
Nigeria 2012	Philippines 2010			
Senegal 2012	Qatar 2010			
South Africa 2010	Rep. of Korea 2011			
Zambia 2011	Saudi Arabia 2012			