

2009 - 2014

Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs

LIBE_OJ(2011)1020_1

DRAFT PROGRAMME HEARING

A COMMON EUROPEAN ASYLUM SYSTEM BY 2012? Asylum and Resettlement

Thursday 20 October 2011, 09.00 – 12.30 and 15.00 – 18.30

Brussels

József Antall building

Room JAN 6 Q 002

Interpretation will be provided in all official languages except DA, ET, MT

 $OJ \ 880576 EN. doc$

PE470.030v03-00

FIRST PART: ASYLUM

SESSION I: 09.00 - 10.00 THE CURRENT SITUATION IN THE EU AND THE MEMBER STATES Chair: Mr. Juan Fernando LÓPEZ AGUILAR

Mr. Juan Fernando LÓPEZ AGUILAR, Chairman of the Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs

Mr. Jerzy MILLER, Minister of Internal Affairs and Administration of Poland, Polish Presidency of the Council representing the TRIO Presidency

Mrs. Maria ÅSENIUS, Head of Cabinet, Cabinet of Commissioner Cecilia Malmström, European Commission

Mrs. Tina ACKETOFT, Member of the Committee on Migration, Refugees and Population, Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe

Mrs. Madeline GARLICK, Head of Unit, Policy and Legal Support Unit, UNHCR - Bureau for Europe

Discussion

SESSION II: 10.00 - 10.50 BENEFICIARIES OF INTERNATIONAL PROTECTION VULNERABLE PERSONS - SPECIAL NEEDS Chair: Mrs. Jean LAMBERT

Mr. Philippe DE BRUYCKER, Professor and Researcher at the Institute for European Studies and the Law Faculty of ULB, Belgium

Mrs. Valentine AUDATE, Coordinator for gender issues, Office of the Commissioner General for Refugees and Stateless Persons, Belgium

Mr. S. CHELVAN, Barrister, No5 Chambers, London, United Kingdom - LGBTI Asylum Expert

Mr. Jérôme BOILLAT, Development Director Parcours d'Exil, Member of the International Rehabilitation Council for Torture Victims (IRCT)

Discussion

SESSION III: 10.50 - 11.35 MINORS Chair: Mrs. Cecilia WIKSTRÖM

Mrs. Rebecca O'DONNELL, Policy and Advocacy Officer, Asylum and Migration, Save the Children

Dr. María Amor MARTÍN ESTÉBANEZ, Programme Manager, Legal Research, Agency for Fundamental Rights (FRA), Vienna

Mr. G. F. M. VERSTEGEN, Director NIDOS, Guardianship agency of unaccompanied minor asylum seekers in the Netherlands

Discussion

SESSION IV: 11.35 - 12.30 FRONTLOADING Chair: Mrs. Sylvie GUILLAUME

Mr. Michele CAVINATO, Legal Officer, Policy and Legal Support Unit, UNHCR - Bureau for Europe

Mrs. Ann-Charlotte NYGARD, Programme Manager, Equality & Citizen's Rights Department, Agency for Fundamental Rights (FRA), Vienna

Mr. Kris POLLET, Legal and Policy Officer, European Council on Refugees and Exiles (ECRE)

Mrs. Muriel GUIN, Head of Unit Asylum, European Commission

Discussion

SESSION V: 15.00 - 15.50 ACCESS TO AN EFFECTIVE REMEDY Chair: Mrs. Monica Luisa MACOVEI

Representative for the Court of Justice of the European Union (tbc)

Mr. Serge BODART, former President of the Council for Alien Law Litigations, Belgium, Member of the Council of State, Lecturer at the Institute for European Studies and the Law Faculty of ULB - Belgium

Dr. Neil FALZON, Director aditus, Visiting Assistant Lecturer University of Malta, EASO Monitor blogger

Dr. M. DEN HEIJER, Member of the Meijers Committee, Standing committee of experts on international immigration, refugee and criminal law

Discussion

SESSION VI: 15.50 - 16.30 DETENTION Chair: Mr. Antonio MASIP HIDALGO

Mrs. Tina ACKETOFT, Member of the Committee on Migration, Refugees and Population, Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe

Mrs. María-Teresa GIL-BAZO, Director Postgraduate Research Degrees, New Castle Law School

Mr. Philip AMARAL, Policy and Communications Officer, Jesuit Refugee Service Europe

Discussion

SECOND PART: RESETTLEMENT

SESSION VII: 16.30 - 18.15 JOINT EU RESETTLEMENT PROGRAMME Chair: Mr. Rui TAVARES

Mr. Johannes VAN GEMUND, Resettlement Policy Officer, UNHCR - Bureau for Europe

Mr. Hovig ETYEMEZIAN, Senior Field Coordinator, UNHCR Zarzis, Tunisia

Mr. Torsten MORITZ, Executive Secretary for EU policy and projects, the Churches' Commission for Migrants in Europe

Mrs. Barbara M. THOMAS, Migration Policy & Refugee Affairs Officer, United States Mission to the European Union

Mr. Jakob Dam GLYNSTRUP, Head of Second Asylum Division, Danish Immigration Service

Discussion

CONCLUDING REMARKS 18.15 - 18.30

An inter-institutional perspective by Representatives of Commission, Council and European Parliament

PRACTICAL GUIDELINES FOR THE DEBATE

• Speakers wishing to supplement their speeches may do so in writing by submitting a document (preferably in English or French) in advance to the secretariat (email: <u>libe-secretariat@europarl.europa.eu</u>). These documents will be circulated during the meeting.

• Meeting documents will be progressively added to the Events section (link on the menu on the left) of the LIBE Committee pages.

IMPORTANT NOTICE FOR THOSE WISHING TO ATTEND THE MEETING

This meeting is open to the public.

However, for security reasons, participants who do not have a European Parliament access badge must obtain a pass in advance. Those wishing to obtain such a pass should contact the secretariat (<u>libe-secretariat@europarl.europa.eu</u>) **before 13 October 2011** <u>at noon</u>.

It is essential to provide us with your LAST NAME, first name, date of birth, nationality, type of the ID (passport, identity card, driving licence, etc.), number of the ID, address and company/institution/organisation. Without this information, the Security Service will not provide entry passes.

THE MEETING IS BROADCASTED LIVE AND RECORDED

LIBE Committee pages:

http://www.europarl.europa.eu/activities/committees/homeCom.do?language=EN&body=LIBE

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

LIBE Secretariat

Patricia VAN DE PEER Administrator Office: RMD 04J012 Phone: +32(0)2 28 44037 libe-secretariat@europarl.europa.eu Lena VESTBERG Assistant Office: RMD 04J014 Phone: +32(0)2 28 41637 libe-secretariat@europarl.europa.eu