• Guy
  • Group of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe
  • Chair
  • Belgium Open Vlaamse Liberalen en Democraten
  • Date of birth: 11 April 1953, Dendermonde


  • BCPR Conference of Presidents
  • AFCO Committee on Constitutional Affairs

Most recent activities

State of the Union (debate)

12-09-2018 P8_CRE-PROV(2018)09-12(3)

Debate with the Prime Minister of Greece, Alexis Tsipras, on the Future of Europe (debate)

11-09-2018 P8_CRE-PROV(2018)09-11(2)

The situation in Hungary (debate)

11-09-2018 P8_CRE-PROV(2018)09-11(11)
  • Happy to know @progresivne_sk will join us at our next congress. It's important for Slovakia & Europe to unite pro-European democratic & progressive forces to defend our union of values 🇸🇰🇪🇺
    18/09/2018 18:23 - twitter
  • The way Oleg Sentsov is being treated by Putin's regime goes fully against Russia’s international commitments on human rights. I support @VeraJourova’s call for his release #FreeSentsov
    18/09/2018 15:24 - twitter
  • 2019 sera une année décisive dans la politique européenne. Toutes les forces pro-européennes doivent s'unir pour faire face aux nationalistes. Il n'y a donc pas de place pour une attitude timide et laxiste dans l’affaire Orbán
    18/09/2018 14:59 - twitter
  • The right wing populist elite in Poland consolidate their power by undermining European values and tell us Polish people are turning away from the EU. The reality is Polish people want a European future! 🇵🇱🇪🇺
    18/09/2018 14:07 - twitter
  • RT @beatrizbecerrab: También @guyverhofstadt, presidente de @ALDEGroup, quien ha aportado una reflexión sobre las reformas que necesita la Unión.
    17/09/2018 15:08 - twitter
  • Europa es una comunidad de valores y cooperación. Todos nos necesitamos y la UE es la solución a los problemas propios que cada Estado miembro pueda tener. Veo a @Albert_Rivera como el próximo presidente de una España europea, tolerante y abierta🇪🇸🇪🇺
    17/09/2018 10:32 - twitter



  • Parlement européen
    Bât. Paul-Henri Spaak
    60, rue Wiertz / Wiertzstraat 60
    B-1047 Bruxelles/Brussel


  • Parlement européen
    Bât. Louise Weiss
    1, avenue du Président Robert Schuman
    CS 91024
    F-67070 Strasbourg Cedex

Postal address

  • Europees Parlement
    Paul-Henri Spaak 55C011
    1047 Brussel