Parliament's new term 


Diese Seite teilen: 

European Parliament’s eighth term ends on 1 July 2019. On 2 July, the new Parliament will hold its constituent session.


The incoming Parliament

The new MEPs-elected started negotiations to form political groups. 25 Members are needed to form a political group, and at least one-quarter of the member states must be represented within the group.

On 2 July, Parliament’s 9th term starts and MEPs meet for its constituent session in Strasbourg. MEPs elect the President, the 14 Vice-Presidents and the five Quaestors of the House and decide on the number and composition of Parliament’s standing committees.

All you need to know about the transition from the 8th to the 9th European Parliament

The next Commission

Member states will nominate a candidate for the post of Commission President, but in doing so they must take account of the European election results. Moreover, Parliament needs to approve the new Commission President by an absolute majority (half of the component members plus one). If the candidate does not obtain the required majority, the member states need to propose another candidate within a month (European Council acting by qualified majority).

The Commissioners-designate, who are proposed by the member states, and the Commission President-elect have to win the approval of Parliament before the Commission can enter into office, at the beginning of November.

Read more here.

UK withdrawal from the EU

Following the agreement reached at the 10 April European Special Summit, the UK’s departure date is set to be 31 October or before.

To enter into force, any withdrawal agreement between the European Union and the United Kingdom would need the approval of the European Parliament by a simple majority of votes cast (Article 50 (2) of the Treaty). Read more about Parliament’s debates and resolutions on Brexit.

The number of MEPs after Brexit will be reduced to 705. Additional seats in the new composition and 9th legislature of the EP for Ireland, France, Italy, Spain, Poland, Romania, Netherlands, Sweden, Austria, Denmark, Slovakia, Finland, Croatia, Estonia would only become available after the UK’s departure. Read more.

Distribution of seats after Brexit