Sakharov Prize: taking a stand for humanity 

The Sakharov Prize is awarded to people who fight human rights abuses 

Young Pakistani campaigner for girls' education Malala Yousafzai has been awarded the 2013 Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought. The prize is awarded by the EP each year to honour exceptional people who fight against intolerance and oppression. Ms Yousafzai was honoured for her fight to promote education for girls in the face of Taliban violence. Meanwhile Myanmar opposition leader Aung San Suu Kyi finally received her Sakharov Prize on 22 October, 23 years after it was awarded by the EP,

This year's Sakharov Prize laureate was announced by EP president Martin Schulz on 10 October. The award ceremony took place in Strasbourg on 20 November. The 25th anniversary of the prize was also marked during the same week. More than 20 previous laureates travelled to Strasbourg to attend the events.

 Aung San Suu Kyi visited Strasbourg on 22 October to receive the Sakharov Prize she had been awarded in 1990. The veteran politician had been under house arrest and was unable to collect it in person for all these years.

The prize is named after Russian dissident Andrei Sakharov, who won the Nobel Peace Prize in 1975 for his work to defend human rights and for highlighting the dangers of a nuclear arms race. Any political group or any group of at least 40 MEPs can nominate a candidate.