Watch the hearings to find out about the people in line to become commissioner 

With four European commissioners leaving the job early, MEPs are this week tasked with scrutinising the people who have been proposed as their replacement. The committees responsible for their suggested portfolios will question the candidates on Monday 14 July. MEPs will vote on the appointment of Jacek Dominik, Jyrki Katainen, Ferdinando Nelli Feroci and Martine Reicherts on 16 July. If all goes to plan, they will be commissioner until the new Commission takes over at the end of the year.

Jacek Dominik will be heard by the budgets committee at 18.30 CET. He has been proposed as a replacement for fellow Pole Janusz Lewandowski as commissioner for financial programming and the budget.

Martine Reicherts, from Luxembourg, has been put forward to replace Viviane Reding as the commissioner responsible for justice, fundamental rights and citizenship. She will be heard at 19.00 CET by a joint sitting of the civil liberties, legal rights and women's rights committees.

Following the election of Antonio Tajani to the Parliament in May, Ferdinando Nelli Feroci has been designated for the portfolio of industry and entrepreneurship. Starting at 20.30 CET,  the Italian will have an exchange of views with the industry, research and energy committee.

Jyrki Katainen is in line to replace Olli Rehn as the commissioner for the euro and economic and monetary affairs. The former Finnish prime minister will be heard by the economic affairs committee from 21.30 CET.

MEPs will vote on the four appointsments on 16 July.  The current Commission's term runs until 31 October 2014.

For more information on the Parliament's committees and to view the live hearings, click on the links to the right.