Main menu (press 'Enter')
Access to page content (press 'Enter')
Direct access to list of other websites (press 'Enter')

Parliament backs Phil Wynn Owen’s nomination to the Court of Auditors

Plenary Session Press release - Budgetary control11-12-2013 - 12:48

Parliament endorsed the UK’s nomination to the European Court of Auditors of Phil Wynn Owen, along with those of the Greek, French, Luxembourgish, and Dutch candidates, in a vote on Wednesday. The final decision on appointments to the Luxembourg body will be taken by the EU Council of Ministers.

The member states nominated the following new candidates (with voting outcomes):

•             Greece: Mr Nikolaos Milionis (552 votes to 42, with 41 abstentions)

•             France: Ms Danièle Lamarque (534 votes to 32, with 37 abstentions)

•             The Netherlands: Mr Alex Brenninkmeijer (526 votes to 48, with 42 abstentions)

•             United Kingdom: Mr Phil Wynn Owen (491 votes to 51, with 56 abstentions)

Luxembourg recommended renewing the tenure of:

•             Mr Henri Grethen (551 votes to 46, with 32 abstentions)

Before the plenary vote, the five nominees were heard in the Budgetary Control Committee which supported the nominations in five secret ballots on 2 December.


Members of the Court of Auditors are appointed for six years. They are nominated by member states, but it is the Council that decides on the final appointments, after Parliament expressed its support or rejection of the candidates.

The members approved today are to take up their positions at the Luxembourg-based court on 1 January 2014.

REF. : 20131206IPR30031