All EU citizens wishing to travel to Brazil for tourism or business will be allowed to enter the country without a visa for stays of up to three months, after two agreements were approved by the European Parliament on Tuesday. Citizens of Estonia, Latvia, Malta and Cyprus, who until now needed to apply for a visa, will no longer need to do so.

MEPs gave their consent to the conclusion of two visa waiver agreements with Brazil, one for holders of ordinary passports and the other for holders of diplomatic, official and service passports.

Under these agreements, all EU citizens - including nationals of Estonia, Latvia, Malta and Cyprus, who until now needed a visa to enter Brazil - will be allowed to travel without a visa for purposes of tourism and business, just as Brazilian citizens can already travel visa-free to all EU countries. 

The maximum length of a stay will be three months during a six-month period in the Schengen area, thereby putting an end to the possibility allowed under bilateral agreements for Brazilians to cumulate different three-month stays per Member State in the Schengen area.

90-95% of all travellers covered

Business and tourist trips, visits to relatives and journeys to attend meetings, conferences, seminars, sports events and amateur artistic competitions are all covered by the agreement on holders of ordinary passports, which applies to 90-95% of travellers.


These agreements do not replace but supplement existing bilateral agreements between several EU Member States and Brazil which cover travel for purposes other than tourism and business.

Students, researchers, artists and members of religious orders are not covered by the agreement. For these categories, existing bilateral visa waiver agreements between EU Member States and Brazil apply.

Travellers who wish to do paid work are also excluded. Brazil and each EU Member State remain free to impose a visa requirement in accordance with applicable EU or national law or in accordance with bilateral agreements that cover this category of travellers.

Under bilateral agreements, British and Irish tourists can already enter Brazil without a visa for a stay of up to 90 days.