A delegation of 11 MEPs will meet Burmese opposition leader Aung San Suu Kyi on Wednesday 29 February in Yangon in Burma/Myanmar. This is the first time Ms Suu Kyi will receive an official delegation from the European Parliament.

The European Parliament welcomes recent positive developments in Myanmar. When meeting Ms Suu Kyi, the delegation, led by Mr Werner Langen (EPP, Germany) will convey a message from EP President Martin Schulz inviting the laureate to address the European Parliament.

Besides meeting Ms Suu Kyi, the delegation will visit the newly-elected parliament to establish formal inter-parliamentary relations, meet the President of Myanmar, various ministers, representatives of civil society, members of the opposition, and visit an EU-funded project.

The European Parliament delegation will convey a message of support for efforts under way in Burma/Myanmar to consolidate democracy, bring about the rule of law, ensure respect for human rights, and achieve national reconciliation.

The attending members of parliament are: Werner Langen (EPP, Germany); Robert Goebbels (S&D; Luxembourg); Ivo Belet (EPP, Belgium); Barbara Lochbihler (Greens/EFA, Germany); Francesco Enrico Speroni (EFD; Italy); Jean Lambert (Greens/EFA, United Kingdom); Wolf Klinz (ALDE, Germany); Barbara Weiler (S&D, Germany); Julie Girling (ECR; United Kingdom); Csaba Sógor (EPP; Romania); MARINESCU Marian-Jean Marinescu (EPP; Romania).

Opposition leader and prisoner of conscience

Aung san Suu Kyi is Myanmar’s best-known prisoner of conscience. She spent most of the time between 1989 and 2011 under house arrest because of her efforts to bring democracy to military-ruled Burma/Myanmar. She was freed from house arrest in November 2010.

Aung San suu Kyi received the Sakharov prize for freedom of thought in 1990, the same year that her party National League for Democracy won an overwhelming victory in an election later annulled by the military regime. Because of the house arrest, she was not able to attend the award ceremony in the European Parliament.

In 1991 Aung San Suu Kyi was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize.